Licensing

Captain Copyright

How to Copyright and Protect Your Artwork

How to Copyright Ever had the unpleasant surprise of finding someone copying your art without your permission? Artist’s & Graphic Designer’s Market contributor Lori McNee was justifiably angry when she discovered an artist copying her work and selling it on Facebook. Fortunately, she was able to get his page shut down...

Art Licensing Tips

Jackie Frerichs’s Licensing Tips 1. Keep on top of the industry. Browse stores and malls often to study what’s popular on shelves. Don’t forget to peruse gift catalogs, too. Frerichs recommends a subscription to Greetings Today, a quarterly magazine that covers the giftware industry. Attend a stationary or gift show, such...

make a profit

Make a Profit With Licensing

Jackie Frerichs knows how to keep several plates in the air at once – plates and mugs and two kinds of napkins. She’s been juggling her designs on a variety of products since 1991, and it’s a trick she feels every artist should master. Learning any new skill takes time and...

Licensing Art 101

I just got an e-mail announcement from ArtNetwork about a FREE live telephone conference with Michael Woodward, author of Licensing Art 101, happening TODAY at 5:00 EST (4:00 CST, 3:00 MST, 2:00 PST).  Learn how to license your artwork for additional income. Learn the major mistakes most people make in the licensing market. Michael...